On and On We Ran Away

“On And On We Ran Away” is a single-player adventure game focused on strong emotional storytelling and dense atmospheric gameplay telling the story of a pregnant woman’s journey home to reunite with her estranged family.

It tells the story of Martine, a refugee, who fled from Kosovo to Italy when the Kosovo war started in the late 1990s. After becoming pregnant, Martine decides to reunite with her estranged family, whom she left behind at the beginning of the war. On the road, she hitches a ride with Angel and Jean, members of a German-American Emo band, and becomes entangled in their struggle to make the European tour a success.

The prototype was developed alongside a seminar focussed on preparing a professional pitch to investors or publishers over a period of two and a half months by a team of four. The pitching process followed Ubisoft’s internal pitching process, which requires projects to be presented at at least three different gates in order to get a release. The gameplay is therefore still very basic and consists only of simple puzzles.

My roles in the project:

Project Management, Game Design & Writing

On and On We Ran Away

screenshot-03
screenshot-01
screenshot-02
screenshot-04
screenshot-03 screenshot-01 screenshot-02 screenshot-04


Comments are closed.

On and On We Ran Away

„On And On We Ran Away“ ist ein Singleplayer Adventure Game, das auf eine emotionale Story mit atmosphärischem Gameplay setzt. Es erzählt die Geschichte einer schwangeren Frau, die nach Jahren im Exil zurück nach Hause kehrt.

Das Spiel erzählt die Geschichte von Martine, die vor dem Kosovokrieg in den späten 1990er Jahre nach Italien geflohen. Nachdem sie unerwartet schwanger wird, beschließt Martine zurückzukehren, um ihre Familie wiederzutreffen, von der sie seit dem Beginn des Krieges nichts mehr gehört hat. Unterwegs trifft sie Angel und Jean, Mitglieder einer deutsch-amerikanischen Emoband, und wird in ihr Unterfangen verwickelt, ihre schlecht laufende Tour doch noch zu einem Erfolg zu machen.

Der Prototyp des Spiels wurde parallel zu einem Seminar in ungefähr zweieinhalb Monaten entwickelt. Das Seminar fokussierte auf die Entwicklung eines professionellen Pitches an Investoren oder Publisher. Der Pitchingprozess entsprach dem Ablauf zur Freigabe von Projekten innerhalb von Ubisoft, der vorsieht, dass das Projekt in drei Stadien präsentiert und freigegeben werden muss. Dementsprechend ist der Prototyp einfach gehalten mit nur einigen wenigen simplen Puzzlen.

Meine Rollen in diesem Projekt:

Project Management, Game Design & Writing

On and On We Ran Away

screenshot-03
screenshot-01
screenshot-02
screenshot-04
screenshot-03 screenshot-01 screenshot-02 screenshot-04


Kommentare sind geschlossen.